Submitting a ballot for counting, 6 October, 2020.
(Sage Smiley / KSTK)

Early returns from Wrangell’s municipal election are in. But with at least 62 early and postal ballots to be counted, at least one race is still too close to call. 

Incumbent Mayor Steve Prysunka has been re-elected for his second two-year term, with 304 votes. Fifty four voters wrote in a candidate other than Mayor Prysunka, who ran unopposed.

In the Assembly races, challenger Terry Courson, a former Wrangell police officer, leads recent assembly appointee Bob Dalrymple by nearly 80 votes. Courson has 240 votes; Dalrymple has 161 votes.

Assembly members Ryan Howe and Anne Morrison are on track to claim two open assembly seats. Howe has 238 votes and Morrison has 283. Jennifer Jackson trails with 189 votes, leaving the possibility of her overtaking Howe. There were four write-in votes.

In the race for a school board seat, Laura Ballou is leading Constance Harris by 164 votes.  There were at least six write-ins.

Gary Morrison has been reelected to the port commission for a full term of three years, with 361 votes. Some 10 ballots had write-ins. 

It appears the City and Borough of Wrangell will withdraw from the Inter-Island Ferry Authority. The largely uncontroversial measure appears on track to pass with 242 votes in favor, and 154 against. 

These election results are unofficial, and will not be certified until the canvass board and borough assembly meet on Thursday (October 8). 

Turnout this year was around 23% of Wrangell’s registered voters. That’s slightly higher than last year’s municipal election, when turnout was just under 20%.

Voter registration for November’s general election has closed. But registered voters wishing to vote absentee have until October 24 to request ballots. More information can be found at the Alaska Division of Elections website.

Get in touch with KSTK at or (907) 874-2345.